Home PageAbout The GameGame RulesTips & Suggestions
Facebook PageOrder OnlineWhere To BuyContact Us

   

The Tower of Mystery Board Game
Tips and Suggestions

We have compiled a list of Tips & Suggestions which we hope will help you enjoy The Tower of Mystery even more!  Many are simply reminders which emphasize a specific rule, while others clarify the mechanics of movement and game play in specific or unusual situations.   

 
MOVING AROUND THE BOARD

  It's important to remember that a player cannot travel directly from a level onto a staircase in a single turn! [Rules Page 2, last rule on the page]. Remember, in order to use a staircase, you must land by exact count on the Doorway space (the space with a key at the beginning of the staircase).  You cannot "stop short". [Rules Page 3, Bullet #4].  In other words, if you are only one space away from a Doorway space but you roll a 2, you cannot just stop on the Doorway space as you travel by.  If you roll a 2, you must move 2 spaces, which means that you "overshoot" the Doorway space.  You must try again on a subsequent turn to land on the Doorway space by exact count.  This may mean reversing direction on your next turn and hoping you roll the correct number.  Or, you may roll the Double Color associated with the Doorway space you're trying to land on.  You may have a Mystery Card that allows you to go to the Doorway space.

  When you are already on a staircase, you do NOT have to land on the Doorway space by exact count to exit the staircase.  Just remember to indicate before rolling whether you'll be going clockwise or counterclockwise when you reach the next level, and move right out of the staircase into the level in a single turn if the dice roll allows.

  Remember, if you are on a staircase and you roll a Double Color, you MUST go to the color space on the level BELOW the staircase, regardless of which direction you are travelling on the staircase. [Rules Page 2, "Moving Around" Rule 2]  If you are going up the staircase, this will hurt you, but if you are going down the staircase it will help you.

 

  BOARD SPACE ICONS

  Sometimes there is confusion regarding the "Turret Draw" space.  You will notice that the Icon Key says that "the Turret Card affects ONLY the player drawing it, even if the Turret Card says otherwise."  So, any Turret Card where an opponent gets money or cards, loses money or cards, or must move to another space, is simply discarded.  The only Turret Cards that are active when landing on a "Turret Draw" space are cards that specifically have actions that the drawing player can do on their own.  What this means is that about half of the Turret Cards will simply be discarded when landing on a Turret Draw space.  Here are some examples: 

  The Green, Blue and Red Squares are the same as Green, Blue, and Red Doorway spaces whenever a Mystery or Turret Card says to move to that color space, and whenever you roll a Double Color.  There is one Blue, one Green, and one Red space in each of the seven levels - it doesn't matter if the square has a key in it or not!  The only difference between a Green Square and Green Doorway are described in the Icon Key - with a Green Square you have the option of buying a Turret Token and with a Green Doorway you have the option of using the staircase.  This is the ONLY difference between the two Green spaces!   Remember, there is one of each of the three colored spaces in each level, and depending on the level you occupy, you could end up on either a Green Square or Green Doorway space, which function differently.

  Some players try to use the Secret Passage without landing on the Secret Passage space.  This is wrong.  In order to activate ANY space on the board, you must land on that space.  The Secret Passage space is no different.  A player wouldn't get a free Mystery Card simply by passing over the Four Leaf Clover space.  And you cannot use a Secret Passage just by passing over the Secret Passage space.  You must land on the Secret Passage space in order to use the Secret Passage!

  There is a staircase going up to the Top of the Tower, but the staircase consists of just one space instead of three.  It's the Omniscient Eye.  Note that the Eye space is darker gray, just like all the other staircase spaces on the board.  If you are on the Doorway space, the Top of the Tower is two spaces away.

 
  PLAYING MYSTERY CARDS AND TURRET CARDS

  A common mistake is someone trying to use a Mystery Card to stop the effect of a Turret Card.  There is NO way to counter the effect of a Turret Card if it applies to you!  Everyone that "qualifies" for a Turret Card must do what it says!  Mystery Cards can only counter other Mystery Cards, no exceptions!  You cannot stop the effect of a Turret Card (although in certain situations, a Turret Card may not apply.)

  Whenever multiple players must perform an action or draw a card, the "Tiebreaker Rule" in the Rule Book (Page 5) is always followed.  The player whose turn it is always goes first (if they must perform the action or draw the card) and then moving to the next player clockwise (to the left) who must perform the action or draw the card.

  Mystery Cards can be played at ANY time, on ANY player's turn. [Rules Page 2, "The Mystery Cards" section]  The scenario doesn't matter.  Let's say a player played the Mystery Card "Two turret cards are drawn right now, one at a time., and they affect all players in the game except the person playing this Mystery Card".   The first turret card is drawn and acted upon.  But a player wants to play a Mystery Card BETWEEN the first and second Turret Cards.  Can they do that?  YES. Anytime means just that - ANYTIME.  A player could even roll the dice and then play a Mystery Card before they move. The only potential issue relates to more than one player wanting to play Mystery Cards at a time.  The tiebreaker rule states that "ties are always broken by starting with the person whose turn it is, and then moving clockwise from player to player."   Of course, if someone has a card which cancels the effect of a card just played, they can play it immediately.

  Occasionally Turret Cards may be drawn which affect multiple players, resulting in what appears to be an ambiguous situation.  For example, a Turret Card may be drawn that says "move to the next higher Turret", yet a player isn't in a turret.  So, how do you know what's the next higher turret?  If the card doesn't fit the situation, it doesn't apply!  Don't try to "force" a Turret Card to always apply to everyone, all the time, in a situation where a Turret Card is activated on multiple players simultaneously.  In the "move to the next higher Turret" example, if a player isn't in a turret, the card simply doesn't apply to them - end of story.  Don't try to force Turret Cards to always apply to every situation! 

  An example of the appearance of ambiguity or contradiction between Mystery and/or Turret Cards, and/or spaces on the board is when someone lands on the Turret Draw space, which states that anyone in a turret must draw a turret card but the turret card applies only to them.  Let's say that a player lands on that space, then draws a Turret card that says that the turret card applies to everyone BUT the person drawing the card.  A contradiction or ambiguous situation?  No.  It's important to perform each action or follow the instructions of a card IN ORDER as they happen, rather than trying to combine their effects together.  In the example just provided, landing on the Turret Draw space says that the turret card applies only to the player drawing the card.  This is the first "effect" that must be considered.  Therefore, every player other than the person drawing the card is "immune" to the card's effects.  Since the turret card that was drawn does not apply to the person drawing the card, there are no players remaining that the card could apply to (all players other than the person drawing the card were immune because of landing on the Turret Draw space, and the person playing the card was immune because of what the card said).  Therefore, the Turret Card is simply discarded since there are no players to which the card applies.

 
  LOSING TURNS

  Players who are losing turns do not move their playing piece, but are still free to do anything else.   They can buy or use Mystery Cards, can lose or get money, are affected by Turret Cards and other players' Mystery Cards, etc..  They just do not roll and move their playing piece when it's their turn (and they do not get to do what's on the space they are already on, since their turn is lost.)